GOING DARK – A Monica McCarty Review & Excerpt

img_2935

Its not often you find yourself across the seas in Scotland, defending a land you’ve never seen. Annie’s trusted her boyfriend and his friends with her life as they set up to sail out to an oil rig to stage a sit in. But when the plan goes awry and Annie has to decide between what’s right and wrong and her life, she has to depend on the ship’s captain, Dan to save her.

Dan, AKA Dean, has been under strict orders to “go dark”; a new identity and no contact with his SEAL team as they try to investigate who betrayed them. What he hadn’t planned for? Innocent activist Annie to throw him into the spotlight as they go on the run from a terrorist organization. Now he has to fight his feelings for her as he fights to stay incognito to protect his team. But how can he do that when Annie is smarter than he thinks…and is sussing out his darkest secrets?

A first in her new series, McCarty hits all the good spots with this action packed suspense romance. Fans of Julie Walker, April Hunt, and Katie Ruggle will LOVE it! There’s a lot of history that goes in to the SEAL team but I liked that McCarty gave us a chance to see what happens in the prologue. There’s never a dull moment from the time Annie and Dean set eyes on one another. Action from all sides paired with a couple who keep their wits about them as they navigate open seas and treacherous waters makes for highly entertaining action romance! Hoping for more of The Lost Platoon series!


9780399587702 The members of a top secret SEAL Team can’t keep their passion under wraps in this thrilling contemporary romantic suspense series from New York Times bestselling author Monica McCarty.

Like Rome’s Lost Legion, a SEAL platoon goes on a mission and vanishes without a trace.

After walking into a trap on a covert op in Russia, the men from top secret SEAL Team Nine are presumed dead. Not knowing whom they can trust, and with war hanging in the balance, the survivors must go dark and scatter around the globe.

Marine ecologist Annie Henderson joins her new boyfriend on a trip to the Western Isles of Scotland to protest a hazardous offshore drilling venture. When she realizes that she may be swept up in something far more dangerous than she’d intended, there is only one man she can turn to. . . .

She and the mysterious but sexy dive boat captain haven’t exactly gotten off to the best start, but something about his quiet confidence makes her think that he’s the kind of man she can depend on. Because he’s gruff and guarded, she can tell Dan Warren has secrets. But she could never imagine how high the stakes are for him to keep his cover, even as he risks everything to protect her. . . .

ORDER YOUR COPY NOW

AMAZON | B&N | IBOOKS | GOOGLEPLAY | KOBO

ADD IT TO YOUR GOODREADS

excerpt.png

Dean was about to turn up his street when a woman darted past him. She was so preoccupied with whatever was bothering her that she didn’t notice him.

But he noticed her. The sexy brunette had been the focus of too many of his sex-starved thoughts for him not to have recognized that shadowed figure right away.

His thoughts immediately turned to anger. What the hell was she doing out here alone at this time of night?

Granted Stornoway wasn’t exactly the mean streets of name-your-favorite American inner city, but it had its share of illegal activity—especially along the waterfront—and it wasn’t a place where a young woman should be walking alone in the middle of the night.

He went after her without thinking. Proving his point, she took way too long to realize he was behind her.

He could tell by the way she jumped when she turned around that he’d startled her.

But it didn’t last. As soon as she recognized him, her eyes narrowed angrily. “Why are you following me? You scared me!”

“Good. You shouldn’t be out here alone—” He stopped suddenly, seeing her expression. She looked about ready to burst into tears. “What’s wrong?”

Unconsciously he’d reached for her arm. Why the hell he’d done that he had no clue. He didn’t go around touching women without an invitation.

He released her before she could protest. But if she’d noticed the too-personal gesture, she didn’t let on.

“Nothing,” she replied, her expression too blank.

He held her gaze long enough for her to see that he knew she was lying. It must not be something she did often, because a guilty blush rose to her cheeks.

She was so damned cute. He wanted to . . .

Fuck.

He took a step back.

Go dark. Don’t do anything to risk your cover.

He heard the warnings loud and clear. But he couldn’t very well let her walk around alone. What if something happened?

“Where’s your boyfriend?”

The tightening around her mouth before she responded gave a big hint of what might be bothering her. Trouble in paradise? Now, that was a cryin’ shame.

“He’s still at camp. He’s hanging around for the music. Julien plays guitar.”

Dean didn’t care if he was Jimmy Hendrix returning from the dead for one last show. “And he let you walk back alone?”

She immediately stiffened, giving him a scathing look. “He didn’t let me do anything. I make my own decisions.”

From the way she said it, it was clear she thought he was some kind of medieval misogynistic pig.

One of those, was she? He should have guessed. That kind of oversensitive feminist crap drove him crazy—not everything was a “microagression.” Being a strong woman didn’t mean you could be stupid about personal safety. And all he’d meant was that douche bag should have cared enough about her safety enough to insist on accompanying her.

Although admittedly Julien probably wasn’t much of a defense.

“Then your decision was a shitty one.”

She looked stunned. “You just say whatever you think, don’t you? I wasn’t asking for your opinion.”

“Well, you got it.” He gave her a long look, taking in the Tulane sweatshirt, tight jeans that left no room to hide anything, and flip-flops. “And unless you are a black belt jujitsu specialist or trained in self-defense and carrying some kind of weapon, I’m walking you to the guest house.”

She looked up at him half outraged and half bemused, as if she couldn’t quite believe someone like him actually existed. It was a look he’d been on the receiving end of more than once.

Eventually her mouth twisted with a smile. “How do you know I’m not?”

“Because if you had any secret ninja skills, from the way you were looking at me a few minutes ago, I’d be on my ass right now.”


CONNECT WITH MONICA

monica-450x2.jpg What do you get when you mix a legal career, a baseball career, motherhood, and a love of history with a voracious reader? In my case, a Historical Romance Author.

And how did I end up writing romance? It’s not as divergent as it seems. What I loved about being a lawyer are the same things I love about being a writer—research and writing. The only thing missing is the arguing, but that’s what a husband and kids are for, right?

 

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s